Trevithick Society Large Blog ImageProgramme 2016

Long Room: Meet 1900hrs for a 1930hrs start at The Long Room,           Liskeard Public Hall PL14 6BW

KEM: Meet 1900hrs for a 1930hrs start at King Edward Mine, Trooon, Camborne TR14 9DP

 

Monday 11 January

Talk on a recently excavated Tudor tin mine

Stuart Emmett

KEM

 

Saturday 6 February

Visit to Box and Swan stone mines

in Corsham, Wiltshire

Timings and meeting place tbc.

 

Tuesday 16 February

Talk on Mining migration

Barry Gamble

Long Room

 

Friday 26 February

A talk on working in the mill at Mount Wellington

Barry Tiddy

KEM

Saturday 27 February

A guided walk around Devon Great Consoles mine (Tavistock)

Meet 1000hrs at Tamar Trails Centre car park Gulworthy, located just off the A390 between Gunnislake and Tavistock (£2.00 all day)

 

Sunday 6 March

A guided walk around Tregargus china stone works (St.Stephen-Brannel)

Meet at St.Stephen Community Centre, 9 Fore St, St.Stephen PL26 7NN at 1000hrs for a 3-4 hours walk. Bring packed lunch. 

 

Friday 11 March

His working life in Cornish mines

Alan Buckley

KEM

 

Monday 14 March

A talk and slideshow on remarkable old Cornish Mine Images

Simon Jones

Long room

 

Friday 25 March – Sunday 3 April (weekend only option available)

Visit to Nenthead mines, Cumbria

Timings and meeting place TBC

 

Friday 8 April

Talk and film on Nenthead lead mining valley

KEM

 

Monday 11 April

Talk about John Taylor, mining engineer of fantastic achievements

John Manley

New Liskeard Room, Liskeard Public Hall

 

Saturday 16 April

Visit to Gothers china clay pit, St.Austell

Timings and meeting place TBC

 

Friday 6 May –Wednesday 11 May

Tin conference, talks & field trips in Tavistock

www.dtrg.org.uk for details

 

Monday 9 May

Talk about his time at Geevor

Graham Williams

New Liskeard Room, Liskeard Public Hall

 

Friday 13 May – Sunday 15 May

AGM of talks & walks

St.Austell

 

Monday 13 June

Talk about Cornish tin veins

Callum Beeson

Long room

 

Friday 17 June – Sunday 19 June

NAMHO – talks & walks

Dublin

 

Friday 24 June

Visit to Delabole slate quarry

Make a donation to the Trevithick Society    

%d bloggers like this: